Outernational Meltdown Sessions - Healers Brew
Jazz - Africa


Healers Brew
from the Outernational Meltdown sessions recorded in South Africa 1994

The Outernational Meltdown sessions had a simple mandate; bring into the studio a bunch of South African musicians who during the age of repression had little chance to expand their musical horizon and invite some of the finest western Jazz and World  musicians, then watch and see what happens. Among others was Brazilian master percussionist Airto Moreira, Sao Paolo born guitarist Jose Neto, South African bassist Sipho Gumede and Pop Mohammed. After two weeks of spontaneous recording sessions in Jo'burg and Cape Town out came  three albums dubbed the Outernational Meltdown Series no longer available except in form of a compilation called Hungry On Arrival. All three complete albums are available for digital download only.


Healers Brew (B&W 077), the second album in the series, is just that, a collection of traditional healing chants, percussions and church hymns. This is a worthwhile album if only for the three tracks of raw acappella by the church group Intethelelo Yabazalwane Choir. Recommended is Mangibe Nawe Baba sung by the full choir . The last track Togetherness unites everyone for a wild jam with percussion and wind instruments-and what fun that was.


Track Listing (30 Second Samples)

Blessing Ceremony
2 Marimba Song
3 Mamgobhozi - A Woman's Name
4 Healers Brew
5 Amen
6 Bazophumula Abangkwele
7 Mangibe Nawe Baba
8 Djembe Amam
9 Siya Dengelela Kgonyama
10 Togetherness