Outernational Meltdown Sessions - Jazzin' Universally
Jazz - Africa


alt iTunes

Jazzin' Universally
from the Outernational Meltdown sessions recorded in South Africa 1994

The Outernational Meltdown sessions had a simple mandate; bring into the studio a bunch of South African musicians who during the age of repression had little chance to expand their musical horizon and invite some of the finest western Jazz and World musicians, then watch and see what happens. Among others was Brazilian master percussionist Airto Moreira, Sao Paolo born guitarist Jose Neto, South African bassist Sipho Gumede and Pop Mohammed. After two weeks of spontaneous recording sessions in Jo'burg and Cape Town out came three albums dubbed the Outernational Meltdown Series no longer available except in form of a compilation called Hungry On Arrival. All three complete albums are available for digital download only.


Jazzin' Universally (B&W 078) combines funky horns, galloping guitar played in the township style, well packaged percussions and feather-touch piano thrown in for good measure. In fact the blaring of horns touch the sky on the tracks Phambili and Nikiwe. Moses Molelekwa, meanwhile, burns the grand Yamaha piano and then some on the track Bo Molelekwa. This is the brave new sound of Jazz in South Africa in the 90s. Overall, this is the strongest album in the series mainly because the talented musicians have space to let it all hang out. Highly recommended.


Track Listing (30 Second Samples) 

1 Amagoduka (Migrant Workers)
2 Phambili
3 Hug Courtney Pine
4 Bo Molelekwa
5 Dance to Africa
6 Nikiwe
7 Nobohle